Nothing Beats Reality

This is my first “official” blog. I decided to start posting because I’ve recently been very inspired by what others are sharing about what they’re feeling and thinking and it’s made me realize I have thousands of poems and essays sitting in my computer that have never been shared. I can only hope that people out there will enjoy and relate.

I’ve called my blog Nothing Beats Reality, because I just saw the documentary “Searching for Sugar Man”. It’s about a man called Rodriguez who got signed to a record label back in the 1960’s. He recorded an album that was so good it was expected to be a huge hit. But to everyone’s astonishment, it flopped. Somehow though, it ended up in South Africa where it was  pirated and where millions of copies were sold. Rodriguez became an icon though nobody knew anything about him. Extraordinary really. Anyway, without giving anything away (because it’s really worth watching!) sufice to say, that during an interview when Rodriguez, he was asked if it bothers him that he didn’t get recognition or money for his record for so many years. He replied simply, “Nothing Beats Reality”.

I was touched and inspired by his humility and connection to life. Indeed, nothing beats reality. And personally, I aspire to believe that reality requires no idealism, for it is already ideal.

Though, my thoughts and poems, may speak differently ;P

Ellie

Leave a comment